RSMC Météo-France La Réunion





Activities as RSMC


The Direction of Météo-France in La Réunion has been formally designated as the Regional Specialized Meteorological Centre (RSMC) - Tropical Cyclones for the South-West Indian Ocean by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) in 1993.

The RSMC La Réunion is responsible for the monitoring of all the tropical systems occurring over its area of responsibility (from the equator to 40°S and between African coastlines to 90°E).
Its primary mission is to provide appropriate guidance information (analysis, forecasts) to the 15 Member States of the region (National Meteorological and Hydrological services of Botswana, Comoros, France, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zimbabwe). Beyond this fundamental operational function, the RSMC plays a role for Training and Research.

Dernière mise à jour le 19.09.2016